Trinity Jagdeo: A CEO’s Advice on Having A Nonprofit Company For People With Disabilities

Trinity Jagdeo is the founder and CEO of From We Can’t To We Can which she founded when she was in high school. The mission of this nonprofit is to support people with disabilities, as well as to raise awareness about disabilities. In addition to chairing her nonprofit, Trinity writes comic books featuring heroes with disabilities.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is trinity.jpg

Image courtesy The Dad-Yael Meshulam

Interview of January 15, 2021

Alexandra Wang: What is the mission of From We Can’t To We Can?

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is logo.png

Image courtesy From We Can’t To We Can

Trinity Jagdeo: Our mission is to raise awareness about disabilities, so that people with disabilities do not feel isolated and alone. We sponsor events to support them. Our latest event, a fashion show, is put on hold due to the pandemic. We, however, have some great events planned for the future.

We also fundraise for people with disabilities. We donate wheelchairs, assistive technology, and other kinds of equipment to families.

We publish books about heroes with disabilities. These books are aimed at people with disabilities, as well as the public at large. We want to raise awareness about disabilities through characters in our books. The message is that everybody has something to offer to make the world a better place.

Alexandra Wang: How did We Can’t To We Can start?

Trinity Jagdeo: After witnessing my best friend’s hospitalization for spinal muscular atrophy type 2,  I founded We Can’t To We Can to fill a need. From We Can’t To We Can was born to honor my friend and her experiences.

I was looking a role model in order to be there for my friend. To better understand her experiences, I tried to find a film about a person with a physical disability.

It was a struggle to find anything in the mainstream media that was relatable. When I discussed this with my friend, I realized that she was on the same quest. We had both come up empty-handed and frustrated.  

I grew up loving Disney characters. I contacted Disney about writing a film about a princess or prince with a disability. I never heard from them. So, I decided to start my own nonprofit company.

I contacted Disney about writing a film about a princess or prince with a disability. I never heard from them. So, I decided to start my own nonprofit company.

Alexandra Wang: What were some of the beliefs about disabilities that you had during childhood?

Trinity Jagdeo: My friend and I have been sidekicks since kindergarten. I also had friends with other kinds of disabilities, such as Asperger’s syndrome (now referred as autism spectrum disorder), cerebral palsy, and apraxia. Disabilities have always just seemed like differences to me.

Alexandra Wang: Is disability the right term then?

Trinity Jagdeo: A huge percentage of our population has a disability. One out of four Americans have a disability. More people should be aware of that fact. Based on my own experiences, the term “differences” is certainly more accurate to my mind.

One out of four Americans have a disability. More people should be aware of that fact.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is stats.png

Image courtesy VisitAble

Alexandra Wang: You write comic books about heroes with disabilities. What made you choose the comic book format?

Trinity Jagdeo: I wanted to create a protagonist who would become an iconic hero. What is on the inside is not revealed on the outside. We wanted to create heroes who would be relatable for people with disabilities.

Alexandra Wang: Tell me about some of your protagonists.

Trinity Jagdeo: Our protagonists have both physical and intellectual challenges. Our book, Zappy Zane, is about my friend’s brother who also has spinal muscular atrophy. Alice the Ace features a girl with down syndrome. The We Can Squad Saves the Day is about other children with disabilities in New Jersey where I live.  This book emphasizes the importance of people working together to achieve a common goal. The characters show that everybody has something important to offer. The mix of different abilities and unique point of view of each person is crucial to the success.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is zz.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is ata.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is we-can.jpg

Images courtesy Amazon

Alexandra Wang: How are people with disabilities usually portrayed in the media?

Trinity Jagdeo:  Well, you already know that I was a Disney fan. I did not see many protagonists with disabilities in the media when I was younger. There are more of these characters in the media today. In fact, there are even animals with disabilities. My younger sister watches a cartoon that has a dog with wheels as prosthetics for his legs. She loves it!

Alexandra Wang: How can the media improve representation of people with disabilities?

Trinity Jagdeo:  They should have more varieties of disabilities—just like in real life. They should have actors and actresses with disabilities to accurately portray these characters in films. This would help the audience to see experiences from these characters’ point of view. It would also provide more job opportunities for actors and actresses with disabilities.

They should have more varieties of disabilities—just like in real life.

Alexandra Wang: Is it useful to feature actors and characters when the plot is not about their disability?

Trinity Jagdeo: It is certainly true that there are more characters with disabilities today, we do not want to essentialize people as their conditions. I also think that they should include characters who are important for what they add to the plot rather than for their differences. It is a long process. But, as they say: “Slow and steady wins the race.” 

It is certainly true that there are more characters with disabilities today, we do not want to essentialize people as their conditions.

Alexandra Wang: How would you advise society to support people with disabilities?

Trinity Jagdeo: People with disabilities should be given the same support as those without disabilities. Approach people with disabilities the way you would when encountering those without them. Robert M. Hensel said: “There is no greater disability in society than the inability to see a person as more.”

Our society draws strength from the wonderful mix of people who contribute to our country. Making sure that people with disabilities participate fully as citizens in all aspects of our society is a way to support those with disabilities and the society in general.

Alexandra Wang: Tell us more about Robert M. Hensel.

Trinity Jagdeo: Robert M. Hensel is the founder of Beyond Limitations Week, designed to focus on the amazing contributions and accomplishments made by people with disabilities. His idea is to focus more on abilities and less on limitations.

He was born with spina bifida and uses a wheelchair. He is in the Guinness Book of Records for the longest non-stop wheelie in a wheelchair. When setting this record, he raised money for wheelchair ramps in his hometown of Oswego, New York to help others. He is a personal hero of mine. Robert M. Hensel is determination on wheels!

Alexandra Wang: What is the best part about running a nonprofit company?

Trinity Jagdeo:  I love my job! It does not feel like work. I feel strongly that helping others is a privilege. It is always great to speak at local schools and libraries because I know that all kids have dreams. Who knows what they will tackle after hearing me speak about my own work.

Alexandra Wang: What are some of the challenges?

Trinity Jagdeo: I had a lot of support when I started From We Can’t To We Can. It is best to start a nonprofit company as a business first. Amazon has helped me publish and sell my books.

Sometimes, I get stuck on ideas for books. I find that it is best to take a break from projects. Ideas will come. They can come from seeing something or having a conversation with someone.  But, mostly, ideas come from people. I truly believe that this is because everybody has something to offer to make the world a better place. You just have to listen.

Alexandra Wang: What advice would you give to others about a nonprofit start-up?

Trinity Jagdeo: Always work with your target group as a team. Be open to feedback. Approach them in a respectful manner.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is hensel.jpg

Image courtesy Our Kids Special Needs

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is cc.jpg

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star